Inspiring teachers collect awards

Front row (l-r): Anne Worden, Paul McVeigh, Dan Hayles, Lee Sartain, Joanna Bucknall and Stephanie Bennett. Back row (l-r): Mick Hayes, Andrew Burbanks, Paul Smith and Nathan Hall

A lecturer with a ‘witty and positive’ teaching style who delivers classes that are ‘engaging, insightful and entertaining’ has won the highest award at the University of Portsmouth Students’ Union teaching awards.

Dr Lee Sartain, senior lecturer in American Studies, won the award for having the most outstanding positive impact on students.

The Teaching Awards recognise and reward University staff committed to delivering excellent teaching and support to their students. Nearly 400 students nominated staff for this year’s awards.

Students and sabbatical officers whittled the nominations down from nearly 1000 across the six categories to a group of 90 before choosing three winners for each award.

Dr Sartain said: “It is an honour to have been nominated by my students and a real shock to win the award. I have been at Portsmouth for seven years and love teaching here. I also learn so much from my students who are always coming up with innovative ways of seeing the world and keeping my humour sharp – they are an inspiration.”

The awards were announced by Zulfa Kaseruuzi, the Students’ Union vice-president for education and democracy.

Zulfa said: “We have received an incredible number of nominations this year, which highlights the valuable teaching and learner support that takes place across the University. The number and the quality of nominations we received for Dr Sartain were overwhelming and are a testament to the positive impact he has had upon so many students’ experiences here at Portsmouth.”

Runners up for the Positive Overall Impact award were Mr Omar Saleh (Strategy, Enterprise and Innovation) and Dr Joanna Bucknall (Creative Arts, Film and Media).

The award for best feedback went to Mr Nipan Maniar (Creative Technologies), with the runners-up being Dr Paul McVeigh (Social, Historical and Literary Studies) and Dr Andrew Burbanks (Mathematics).

The award for best personal tutor went to Ms Judy Harrison (Art, Design and Media), with Dr Brian Baily (Geography) and Mr Nathan Hall (Institute of Criminal Justice Studies) coming second and third.

The winner of the award for outstanding learner support was Mr Dan Hayles (Art, Design and Media) and the runners up were Mr Steve Whale (Art, Design and Media) and Mrs Anne Worden (University Library).

The postgraduate choice award went to Dr Isobel Ryder (Healthcare Science), with the runners-up being Ms Stephanie Bennett (Humanities and Social Sciences) and Mr Mick Hayes (Marketing).

The most innovative teacher award went to Dr Paul McVeigh (Social, Historical and Literary Studies), with runners-up Mr Nipan Maniar (Creative Technologies) and Mr Paul Smith (Institute of Criminal Justice Studies).

UoP News © 2018 All Rights Reserved